top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJo Reynolds

Customising your pacing card....

Updated: Feb 13, 2019




A month or so ago, I did a poor visibility / night navigation refresher with Paul Poole Mountaineering @Mr_PaulPoole (would highly recommend for the record - mountaineering guru and all-round good egg!). One of the things that was stressed was the room for error where arithmetic is concerned, especially when you’re stressed, tired, hungry and would rather be in the pub. You probably have a pacing card, such as those produced by Mountain Training (pictured) and dished out on navigation workshops / ML courses. Customising your pacing card was something that Paul recommended....along with using beads / toggles to signify every how many paces walked. Given the value I have gained from customising my pacing card, I thought others may find it helpful. Mine is based on 67 paces per 100m and of course if your pace number is different, you will need to modify accordingly. I also measure distance in millimetres so having a quick way (without the maths) to work out how far 4mm is on a 1:25k map saves a lot of stress. I also put some key messages on my card for the times when, particularly on assessment, I need to calm myself and get back to basics with method and strategy. Hope you find this useful - feel free to share.

Jo

770 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page